Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies.

Let me tell you, shopping for the ingredients for cookies was difficult. Standing in a crowded aisle, attempting to quickly type into my translator app “harina de triago,” hopeful that I had grabbed the right kind of flour. It was frustrating that something that is so easy back in the United States, something I enjoyed so much, was made more difficult by my lack of Spanish vocabulary.

I am learning new words every single day, and yet I always feel as though I am ten paces behind the present conversation. To be in a country that speaks a language different than my own means constantly being aware and mentally present so as to not miss something in an exchange. It means trips to the grocery store for simple baking ingredients are more difficult and I may not be as efficient as I wish to be, but I am constantly aware of the grace I need to extend myself daily because I am learning. I am learning that baking soda goes by its scientific name and that brown sugar comes in a milk carton. I am learning new words and phrases in Spanish and Catalan, while also learning a new culture in its entirety.

Though it took multiple supermarket trips, I had finally compiled the ingredients it would require to make the cookies. Once mixed and stirred and baked and cooled, those cookies turned out to be pretty tasty, and I felt quite accomplished. So here’s to being able to look back at this time in Mallorca and knowing that even when things seemed difficult and I was frustrated, sweetness resulted.

And for your viewing pleasure, some photos from a visit to L’Almudaina and La Seu Cathedral over the weekend.

img_1079img_1082img_1083img_1101La Seu Cathedralimg_1105The blue skies make everything prettier.img_1099img_1096img_1126img_1124Between the cacti and the palm trees, I feel like I live on a desert island.img_1133The view of the cathedral from the courtyard in L’Almudaina. img_1142The weather-vane in the shape of an angel serves as a symbol of protection. img_1144L’Almudaina was built as an Arabian fort and eventually became royal residences in the 14th century. It has arabic baths and many grand rooms filled with tapestries and paintings of the people who once resided here. img_1157img_1158The colors of these buildings get me every time. It’s like the people who owned them collectively decided they’d each paint their own a color that complimented the others.

 

Leave a Reply

