I See France…

I had the pleasure of visiting Corsica, France over the last week alongside my friend Luciana and her friend Julie. Together, Luciana and Julie had planned a trip that incorporates international travel and the opportunity for self-transformation, and before their guests arrived, they had a week to prepare and explore the island for themselves, which is where I arrive on the scene.

While I have been to France before, I had never heard of Corsica so a quick google search was in order. It produced a map of a Mediterranean island perched between the mainland of France and the Italian island of Sardinia. Corsica is the birthplace of Napoleon and also home to the world’s most winding roads (or at least from my experience). It is also an island of many villages and a vast expanse of vegetation.

Because Luciana and Julie were using their time to figure out further plans for their retreat, my only job was to follow suit. I did my best to say yes to every planned activity, despite some early wake-ups and long drives. Most of our mornings began with a hike, which sometimes took two hours of driving to get to. We took time to explore the villages that we drove through, some perched right on the edge of a cliff, and ate too many baguettes and pain au chocolat along the way. Evenings often consisted of finding a local restaurant or cooking a delicious meal.

As a whole, Corsica is a wonderfully kept secret from Americans. There is very little English spoken on the island, especially in the village of Nonza where we stayed. With beautiful views around every bend, Corsica gave me a taste of island living that I won’t soon forget.

If you’re interested in what Luciana and Julie are up to, check out Travel to Transform International.

img_0621Immediately upon arriving, we made a pit-stop for fromage from a local farmer.img_0622img_0638We walked by this home each day to get to our place and it is just the most picturesque.img_0672img_0510Plage du Lotuimg_0685Julie’s husband Kurt joined for the fun and was so gracious in stopping during the drives to take pictures, making sure I had coffee each morning, lugging my fifty pound suitcase up and down many stairs, and picking us up at the end of our hikes so that we didn’t have to make the trip back. Our trip wouldn’t have been what it was without his assistance.img_0690Processed with VSCO with t1 presetimg_1333img_0710“Ile de beaute” ice cream for Luciana, which is what they call Corsicaimg_1345img_0513My homemade charcuterie board. img_0752My future home will have pots on pots of succulents like this one.img_0732img_0742img_1386img_1450Warning: prickly pears are deceitful with their little invisible spines.img_1455After our hike in Corteimg_1458Cows spotted on the drive up to Restonica trail.img_1465The spring was so blue; all the heart eyes here.img_1471

The sunsets in Corsica were a sight to see, every night it was different but just as beautiful as the one before. My time in Corsica came and went quickly, but alas it is time to get to Spain. Au revoir, France, you were good to me!

Leave a Reply

